Association of Independent School Librarians

The Marky Award was inspired by founding member Mark Hillsamer, the librarian at St. Albans School, Washington DC for 36 years. Mark helped to establish AISL in 1987 and fostered its growth for 14 years. It very well may have been “Mark’s smiling face, soothing voice, and wry sense of humor”  that kept the organization going during those years.  Walter DeMelle formally announced Mark’s retirement at the Skip Anthony Lecture Banquet in 2001 and presented Mark with a special gift: a mask from Thailand of a lady who holds her index finger gently to her lips in a familiar shushing gesture.

The Marky Award has been given annually since 2002, honoring AISL members who have made a significant contribution to the organization over a long period of time.  A mounted replica of Mark’s gift is given to the winner to be displayed in his or her library until the next conference, together with a small unpainted replica of the mask for the honoree to keep.  The honoree is chosen by the past Marky winners and is presented with the award at the annual Skip Anthony banquet.

Recipients of the Marky Award:

 2023 Katie Archambault  St. Andrew's Sewanee, Sewanee TN
 2022 Christina Pommer Saint Stephen's Episcopal School, Bradenton FL
 2021 Claire Hazzard St. Paul Academy & Summit School, St Paul MN
 2020 Sandy Gray St. Michael's College School, Toronto ON
 2019 Renee Chevallier Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas TX
 2018 Barbara Share  Ransom Everglades School, Miami FL
 2017 David Wee  Mid-Pacific Institute, Honolulu HI
 2016 Jean Bruce The Ensworth School, Nashville TN
 2015 Karen Gray
 St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville VA
 2014 Diane Neary
 The Nightingale-Bamford School, New York NY
 2013 Milly Rawlings
 The Baylor School, Chattanooga TN
 2012 Linda Mercer
 John Burroughs School, St. Louis MO
 2011 CD McLean
 Berkeley Preparatory School, Tampa FL
 2010 Diane Spear
 Greenhill School, Addison TX
 2009 Liz Gray
 Dana Hall School, Wellesley MA
 2008 Shannon Acedo
 Harvard-Westlake Upper School, Studio City CA
 2007 Stephanie Meyer
 Campbell Hall School, North Hollywood CA
 2006 Walter DeMelle
 The Hotchkiss School, Lakeville CT
 2005 Barbara (May) Hathaway Woodberry Forest School, Woodberry Forest VA
 2004 Eileen Frost
 The Summit School, Winston-Salem NC
 2003 Joan Turk
 Oak Knoll School, Summit NJ
 2002 Selene Meeks
 Lake Forest Academy, Lake Forest IL
 2001 Mark Hillsamer
 St. Albans School,  Washington DC

Association of Independent School Librarians

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software