Association of Independent School Librarians

Year Place
 Skip Anthony Banquet Lecturer*
 2023 Santa Fe, NM E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars
 2022  Online Pamela Harris, author of When You Look Like Us & Jenny Torres Sanchez, author of We Are Not   From Here
 2021 Online | session materials

Christina Hammonds Reed, author of The Black Kids & Namina Forna, author of The Gilded Ones

 2020 Houston, TX (canceled) 
 2019 Boston, MA | session materials Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked
 2018 Atlanta, GA  Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea
 2017 New Orleans, LA Rebecca Miller, editor of Library Journal
 Los Angeles, CA
 Sam Wasson, author of 5th Avenue, 5am and Fosse
 Tampa, FL
 Ken Dorsey, author of Florida Roadkill and the Serge Storms series
 2014 Dallas - Fort Worth, TX  Kurt Eichenwald, author of The Informant
 Baltimore, MD
 Kevin O’Malley, author of Animal Crackers Fly the Coop
 Denver, CO
 Thomas J. “Dr. Colorado” Noe
 San Francisco, CA
 Gennifer Choldenko, author of Al Capone Does My Shirts
 Nashville, TN
 Robert Hicks, author of The Widow of the South
 Las Vegas, NV
 Jane Yolen and Adam Stemple
 Toronto, ON
 Deborah Ellis, author and activist
 Philadelphia, PA
 Terry Gross, National Public Radio journalist
 Atlanta, GA
 Terry Kay, author of To Dance with the White Dog
 New York, NY
 Richard Peck, author of A Year Down Yonder
 2004 Dallas, TX
 Naomi Shihab Nye, poet, author, and anthologist
 Charlottesville, VA John Cole, Director of The Center for the Book at the Library of Congress
 2002 Pasadena, CA
 Robin Rector Rupp, author and illustrator of Rainbow and You
 2001 New England
 James Gurney, author of Dinotopia
 Washington, DC
 Diane Rehm, National Public Radio journalist
 Winston-Salem, NC
 Jill McCorkle, author of The Cheerleader
 Portland, OR
 Chet Orloff, Director of the Oregon Historical Society
 Baltimore, MD
 Taylor Branch, author of Parting the Waters
 Washington, DC
 David Maraniss, author of First in His Class
 Denver, CO
 David Loertscher, AASL President
 Boston, MA
 Robert Cormier, author of The Chocolate War
 Los Angeles, CA
 Rebecca Rothenberg, author of The Bullrush Murders
 Washington, DC
 Michael Dirda, editor of The Washington Post’s “Book World”
 1991 St. Louis, MO
 Glen Savan, author of White Palace
 1990 San Francisco, CA
 Joe Kane, author of Running the Amazon
 1989 Washington, DC Richard Jackson, publisher, Bradbury Press
 1988 Washington, DC I.F. Stone, journalist and author of The Trial of Socrates


*Skip Anthony was the librarian at the Ellis School in Pittsburgh.  He was a founding member of AISL, ” a lifelong librarian, the best in the profession, and a friend to all of us “old-timers”.   Active in our library organizations, he was always present to give advice, encouragement and support.   His passing in 1990 saddened us all and was a tremendous loss to AISL.”–Mark Hillsamer, “AISL at Nine,” Library Connection, March 1996.

Association of Independent School Librarians

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software